Brilliant Naas CBS in a world of their own as they emphatically get the better of Scoil Mhuire Clane

Facebook Twitter Google+
Brilliant Naas CBS in a world of their own as they emphatically get the better of Scoil Mhuire Clane
By Robert Cribbin 16:50 Saturday 16th of February 2019

Naas CBS 4-19

Scoil Mhuire Clane 1-5

Br.Bosco Leinster A Schools Football Championship Quarter-Final

Naas CBS produced a stunning performance as they easily booked their place in the last four of the Br.Bosco Cup with victory over Scoil Mhuire Clane in Hawkfield.

The all Kildare derby was expected to be a tightly fought affair but it was nothing of the like as Naas CBS dominated from start to finish.

Naas lined up with just four of last year’s winning team and it just shows the strength in depth they have flowing through the school at the moment.

Naas CBS were fantastic all over the field but special mention must go to Mikey McGovern who finished with 1-7 and he was involved in a hell of a lot more as his fleeting feet caused havoc in the Clane defence.

Scoil Mhuire got into the game good and early with Shane O’Sullivan kicking an opening minute free but forceful attacks proved to be few and far between as Naas gradually took control.

Naas duly scored 1-4 without reply before Clane scored again as they exerted all their dominance on proceedings.

Mikey McGovern levelled up matters with a well taken free before Drew Costello had a shot expertly saved by Scoil Mhuire goalkeeper Cian Burke after Dermot Hanafin found the corner forward in space.

Costello did eventually get on the scoresheet though with a well taken 45 and just minutes later McGovern struck for goal after he glided through the Clane defence.

Costello and Simon Murphy added further points while McGovern nearly had his second goal in the 12th minute when Burke again produced a miraculous save to deny him after he palmed an effort towards goal on the back of a flowing team move.

O’Sullivan and Sam McCormack steadied Scoil Mhuire with a pair of scores but they were badly in need of a goal and McCormack looked out of luck when he appeared to be fouled in the square while shooting for goal but nothing was given by Louth referee Eoin Hand.

Naas then finished the half in style with points from play by Kevin Quinn and Dermot Hanafin and they were soon followed up with McGovern converting a trio of frees as the defending Leinster champions took 1-9 to 0-3 lead into the break.

Naas didn’t let up on the resumption either with Murphy and Quinn increasing their tally with scores.

Scoil Mhuire replied with a pair of frees from O’Sullivan but after David Morrissey denied the centre forward with a smothered save, it was plain to see that the game was up for Padraig Carbury’s men.

Incidentally Clane went twenty minutes without a score and in that time Naas CBS cruised home with ruthless efficiency.

Last year’s county minor football captain Alex Beirne appeared from the bench to flight over a couple of scores which were then added to by McGovern.

Naas led 1-16 to 0-5 at this stage but in the last few minutes they went goal crazy as they found the net three times with Raheens man Conor Murphy getting a brace of efforts after coming on as a sub before Dermot Hanafin also got in on the act with a shot into the top corner.

Sam McCormack hit back with a goal for Clane that Naas goalkeeper David Morrissey will probably be disappointed that he let in as the shot went through him but it made little difference with Naas finishing in style with points from Beirne, John Lawler and Aidan Dunlea as they impressively booked a spot in the semi-finals.


Naas CBS: David Morrissey; Jack Hamill, Conall O’Gallachobhair, Conan Boran, John Lawler 0-1, Kevin Kelleher, Paddy McDermott, Eoin Archbold, Jack Cleary, Kevin Quinn 0-2, Tony O’Connor, Dermot Hanafin 1-1, Drew Costello 0-2 (0-2, 45), Simon Murphy 0-2, Mikey McGovern 1-7 (0-6fs).

Subs used: Alex Beirne 0-3 for Archbold 35 mins, Conor Murphy 2-0 for Costello 50 mins, Liam Broderick for Cleary 50 mins, Harry Carroll for Lawler 60 mins, Murray O’Byrne for Hanafin 61 mins, Aidan Dunlea 0-1 for Kelleher 62 mins.

Scoil Mhuire Clane: Cian Burke; Sean Connolly, Arlo Graham, Eoin Walsh, Conor Ward, John Lynch, Conor Walsh, Danny Vaughan, Sam McCormack 1-1, James Behan, Mark Kelly, Shane O’Sullivan 0-4 (0-4fs), Shane O’Connor, Dean O’Shea, Eoghan O’Haire.

Subs used: Daniel O’Gorman for Graham 30 mins, Oisin O’Sullivan for Kelly 50 mins.

Ref: Eoin Hand (Louth)

If you have a story or want to send photos or videos to us please contact the KildareNow editorial team. via our Facebook, via our email at [email protected] or on 045 409350 during office hours.

Related articles