PHOTO GALLERY: A week of celebrations for graduating students at St Farnan's in Prosperous

Graduating Class of 2019

Last week was a week of special celebrations for the St. Farnan’s school community in Prosperous. On Tuesday, May 21, the Transition Year class of 2018-2019 showcased their many projects and activities from throughout the year and they celebrated their achievements in the presence of school management, their families and invited guests.

Several students received awards for outstanding participation and achievement during their time in TY. Stephen Agebele and Jessica Kiernan received the Spirit of TY Awards, while Eoghan Kenna was awarded the Citizenship Award. Ryan Bagnall McGinley received an award for Outstanding Sportsmanship while Lauren O’Toole was awarded a prize for Best Work Ethic during the year.

In his address to the large audience, Mr. Collins, Principal of St. Farnan’s, paid tribute to the students in TY for their commitment, dedication and enthusiasm throughout the year, to the recently appointed Coordinator of the TY programme in the school, Ms. Tanya Flanagan and to the teaching staff involved in the course.

The celebrations continued on Thursday, May 23 when a very large crowd celebrated the Graduation of the 6th year cohort of students.

A very inspiring and moving ceremony was hosted by the 6th year students and it also involved school management, their Year Head, Ms. Breda Cronin, tutors, parents, 1st year students and members of the school’s Board of Management.

The Graduation Committee, led by Ms. Cronin, ensured that a beautiful selection of readings, musical pieces, poetry and prayers was complimented by the wonderful accompaniment of the school’s highly accomplished Trad. Group.

As well as presenting Graduation Certificates to all of the Leaving Certificate students, a number of special awards were also announced. Special Recognition Awards for their Academic Achievements were given to Úna Loftus, Sarah O’Rourke, Chloe Heffernan and Max Baldwin, while the Citizenship Awards were presented to Liam Dempsey, Emily Gallen, Jay Dwyer and Ciara Moran.

All of the senior Prefects were presented with badges, certificates and gifts in grateful appreciation of their sterling work throughout the school year and in particular for their work with the junior students in the school.

In acknowledgement of their outstanding progress in their Irish Language studies, Fáinne awards were presented to Josh Ivers, Roisín Dwyer, Tammie O’Neill and Liam Dempsey.

To warm applause, Sarah O’Rourke collected two further awards, the Silver Gaisce Award and the NUI Maynooth Award for exceptional academic achievement.

Megan Price, Liam Dempsey and Úna Loftus were deemed the year’s outstanding athletes and were presented with the school’s Exceptional Sportsperson Awards by members of the PE Department, while Ciara Moran was awarded the prestigious Ray O’Malley Cup in recognition to her outstanding contribution to sport in the school, and particularly her generous mentoring of the younger players. 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.