Congrats to the new Mayor of Kildare...Cllr Suzanne Doyle

KildareNow reporter


KildareNow reporter


Congrats to new Mayor of Kildare is....Cllr Suzanne Doyle

Mayor Suzanne Doyle

Fianna Fail county councillor, Suzanne Doyle, has been elected Mayor of Kildare at the first meeting of the new Kildare County Council held in Naas today.

The Kildare Town native was proposed by Cllr Daragh Fitzpatrick (FF) and seconded by Cllr Mark Stafford (FG).

Cllr Seamie Moore has been elected Deputy Mayor.

He was proposed by Cllr Carmel Kelly (FF) and seconded by Ivan Keatley (FG).

 Fianna Fáil stalwart Cllr Doyle was one of the highest vote gatherers in the local elections on May 24.

She received 147% of the quota in the Kildare Local Electoral Area on the first count - the third highest relative first preference vote across all electoral areas, after Labour’s Mark Wall and independent, Fiona McLoughlin-Healy.

While Fianna Fail and Fine Gael, between them have a narrow majority on the new council, it is understood that there is an arrangement with other parties and independents to rotate the role of the mayor and other positions.