08 Aug 2022

Jack O'Connor picks hugely experimental side for Kildare's opening game in the O'Byrne Cup

Jack O'Connor picks hugely experimental side for Kildare's opening game in the O'Byrne Cup

Daniel Flynn will mark his return to the Kildare squad with a start at full forward for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup clash with Longford

New Kildare Manager Jack O’Connor has shown his hand for the Lillywhites opening game with Longford in the O’Byrne Cup on Saturday afternoon.

After both sat out the last campaign Johnny Byrne and Dan Flynn come straight back into the team with the full forward line having a real exciting look to it with Flynn joined by his namesake Neil and debutant Jack Robinson.

In total there are only two survivors that started Kildare’s Qualifier defeat to Tyrone in June with Neil Flynn being joined by captain on the day David Hyland.

It’s a hugely experimental lineup with the likes of Newbridge pair Liam Healy and Shea Ryan marking their return to the squad while Liam Power, John Tracey and Eoghan Bateman join Robinson in starting competitively for the first time.

O’Connor is down a number of regulars due to injury at the moment but does have the likes of Tommy Moolick, Cian O’Donoghue, Paddy Brophy and Mark Hyland on the bench as the Kerry native looks to get his managerial debut with Kildare off to the ideal start.

Throw-in at St.Conleths Park is at 2.00.

Kildare team to play Longford:

1.     Aaron O’Neill, Carbury

2.     Liam Healy, Moorefield

3.     Eoghan Bateman, Naas

4.     Shea Ryan, Sarsfields

5.     Johnny Byrne, Allenwood

6.     David Hyland, Athy (Captain)

7.     Kevin Flynn, Celbridge

8.     Pascal Connell, Athy

9.     Liam Power, Raheens

10.  Tony Archbold, Celbridge

11.  Niall Kelly, Athy

12.  John Tracey, Straffan

13.  Jack Robinson, Clogherinkoe

14.  Daniel Flynn, Johnstownbridge

15.  Neil Flynn, Maynooth



16.  Mark Donnellan, Maynooth

17.  Davy O’Neill, Round Towers

18.  Padraig Nash, Monasterevan

19.  Con Kavanagh, Sarsfields

20.  Chris Byrne, Clane

21.  Tommy Moolick, Leixlip

22.  Paddy Brophy, Celbridge

23.  Mark Hyland, Athy

24.  Cian O’Donoghue, Clane

25.  Daragh Ryan, Sarsfields

26.  Sam Doran, Johnstownbridge

27.  Darragh Kirwan, Naas

28.  Robbie Philips, Clane

29.  Emmet O’Keefe,  Castledermot

30.  John O’Toole, Monasterevan

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.