Kildare ladies in first All-Ireland B C'ship final. Kildare v Roscommon at Moate, throw in 2pm on Sunday 15.

Facebook Twitter Google+
Kildare ladies in first All-Ireland B C'ship final. Kildare v Roscommon at Moate, throw in 2pm on Sunday 15.
By Rose Barrett 10:00 Saturday 14th of July 2018
As Kildare senior footballers take on Monaghan in the first of  two games amidst the final Super 8s, Kildare ladies meet Roscommon  in Moate, Co Westmeath, to determine the 2018 All-Ireland minor B championship. Roscommon are back in the B final for the second year on the trot, having lost out to Meath in last year’s final.

Roscommon last won the competition back in 2009 when they defeated Tipperary, and they will go into the final with plenty of confidence.

In their recent semi-final, Roscommon needed a late goal to secure a dramatic 5-6 to 1-16 victory over Antrim, as just two points separated the sides at the final whistle.

For Kildare, this is a very first All-Ireland Minor B final, and it’s a day to savour for the Lilywhites.

Kildare were All-Ireland U16 B finalists last year and their minors recently captured the A title in Leinster, before losing out narrowly to Kerry after extra-time in the recent semi-final.

With Tipperary GAA legend Michael ‘Babs’ Keating and former jockey Johnny Murtagh, father of Kildare player Lauren, watching on from the stands, the Lilywhites beat Waterford in Nenagh at the semi-final stage, running out one-point winners on a 0-18 to 2-11 scoreline.

Kildare team sheet ahead of tomorrow's final:

1 Ciara Farrell St Laurences
2 Ciara Regan Moorefield
3 Lara Gilbert Kildangan
4 Emily Birch Leixlip
5 Hazel McLoughlin Eadestown
6 Lauren Murtagh Milltown
7 Ali Cullen Maynooth
8 Molly Aspel Kilcullen
9 Lara Curran Milltown
10 Claire Nugent Sallins
11 Neasa Dooley (Capt) Castledermot
12 Aislinn Dooley Suncroft
13 Molly Dagg Leixlip
14 Nanci Murphy Kilcullen
15 Leah Hayes Round Towers
16 Cliodhna Malone Milltown
17 Leah McCormack Sallins
18 Joanne Deay Clane
19 Eve Kehoe Suncroft
20 Emma Doolan Ballykelly
21 Kelly O’Brien Monasterevin
22 Ciara Downey St Laurences
23 Aine Ni Raghallaigh Eadestown
24 Megan Troy Suncroft
25 Carla Ennis Suncroft
26 Christine Donagher Athy
27 Alana Baker Ballykelly
28 Niamh Doran Moorefield
29 Eabhinn Grimes Confey
30 Sarah Doyle Leixlip

If you have a story or want to send photos or videos to us please contact the KildareNow editorial team. via our Facebook, via our email at [email protected] or on 045 409350 during office hours.

Related articles