Major changes proposed for Kildare election boundaries as 2 new divisions to be created

Facebook Twitter Google+
Major changes proposed for Kildare election boundaries as 2 new divisions to be created
9:59 Thursday 14th of June 2018

It is being recommended that Kildare be split up into seven electoral divisions rather than the existing five, a move which will be in place by the time the 2019 General Election takes place if it gets the green light.

The report, which has been issued by the Local Electoral Boundary Committee, states that the growing population of the counties means that it is required that a further two electoral areas be created for the next election, with Clane getting its own division, while Celbridge and Leixlip will also be split into their own areas.

The latter two towns previously had their own municipal district together, while Clane formed part of the Maynooth Municipal District.

The report states;

"With a population of 222,504 and 40 members, the individual average population per member in Kildare is 5,563. The terms of reference require a variance from individual average local authority representation within the range of plus or minus 10%. For Kildare, this represents a range between 5,006 and 6,119. The population per member in each local electoral area should, as far as practicable, fall within this range."

The Committee is recommending a division of the county into seven local electoral areas, to be formed around the towns of Athy, Celbridge, Clane, Kildare, Leixlip, Maynooth, Naas, and Newbridge.

The Committee’s recommendations are summarised as follows:

The following is a detailed description setting out the electoral divisions that comprise each recommended local electoral area:


Athy East Urban, Athy Rural, Athy West Urban, Ballaghmoon, Ballitore, Ballybrackan, Ballyshannon, Belan, Bert, Burtown, Carrigeen, Castledermot, Churchtown, Dunmanoge, Fontstown, Graney, Grangemellon, Harristown, Inchaquire, Johnstown, Kilberry, Kilkea, Kilrush, Moone, Narraghmore, Nurney, Skerries and Usk.


Those parts of the electoral division of Celbridge not contained in the local electoral area of Leixlip and Donaghcumper.


Ballynadrumny, Cadamstown, Carbury, Carrick, Clane, Donore, Downings, Drehid, Dunfierth, Kilmeage North, Kilmeage South, Kilpatrick, Kilrainy, Lullymore, Robertstown, Timahoe North, Timahoe South and Windmill Cross.


Leixlip and those parts of the electoral division of Celbridge to the north of a line drawn along the M4.


Balraheen, Cloncurry, Donadea, Kilcock, Maynooth, and Straffan.


Carnalway, Carragh, Droichead Nua Rural, Droichead Nua Urban, Gilltown, Kilcullen, Ladytown, Morristownbiller and Oldconnell


Ballysax East, Ballysax West, Cloncurry, Dunmurry, Feighcullen, Kildangan, Kildare, Killinthomas, Lackagh, Monasterevin, Pollardstown, Quinsborough, Rathangan, Rathernan and Thomastown.


Ballymore Eustace, Bodenstown, Kill, Killashee, Kilteel, Naas Rural, Naas Urban, Newtown, Oughterard and Rathmore.

If you have a story or want to send photos or videos to us please contact the KildareNow editorial team. via our Facebook, via our email at [email protected] or on 045 409350 during office hours.

Related articles