08 Aug 2022

Kildare move up a gear to stroll past Longford in Leinster Replay

Final score Kildare 1-18 and Longford 0-10

Newcastle West won both the senior and minor football and Doon winning the Premier minor hurling title in a busy local GAA weekend

Kildare 1-18 Longford 0-10

Leinster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final Replay

It may have taken the second bite of cherry but Kildare finally booked a place in the last four of the Leinster Championship with a convincing victory over Longford on Sunday afternoon.

It took seventeen minutes for the scoreboard to be opened but on the whole Kildare were the much better side with Fergal Conway’s goal giving Kildare a lead they would never relinquish.

Conway was just one of a number of players who performed well in white with the likes of Tommy Moolick, Ben McCormack and Neil Flynn also putting in big displays.

Longford were never at the races and they must now lick their lips for a Qualifier away to Carlow as their loss of a number of key players finally told.

It was a very pedestrian beginning to the game with neither team getting a score for almost half of the opening period.

An issue that summed up the lack of accuracy and overall disappointing play was Jimmy Hyland stuttering nervously before kicking a free wide.

That missed chance seemed to affect the Ballyteague man as he looked set for a gilt edged goal in the 14th minute when set up by Ben McCormack but he delayed his shot and Patrick Fox got back to make a dispossession with Hyland getting injured in the process.

Finally the first score soon arrived with David McGivney kicking a free just a few moments after Mark Donnellan denied Donal McElligott.

Kildare then struck for goal themselves when Fergal Conway ran almost half the field while fending off a few challenges and his shot rifled into the net with the aid of the crossbar.

Tommy Moolick followed up with a point off his left foot before a brace of effo Paddy Collum; Patrick Fox, Andrew Farrell, Barry O’Farrell, Colm P.Smyth, Padraig McCormack, Darren Quinn, John Keegan, David McGivney, Gary Rogers, Barry McKeon, Michael Quinn, Daniel Mimnagh, James McGivney, Darragh Doherty.

Subs used: Joseph Hagan for Farrell (Black Card) 50 mins, Mark Hughes for Doherty 52 mins, Shane Kenny for Rogers 58 mins, Aidan McElligott for Smyth 65 mins, Ronan McEntire for Kenny 75 mins, Darragh Doherty for Hughes 87 mins, rts from Longford’s David McGivney left only a point between sides.

Kildare had one goal but they could have had more with David Slattery placing a shot wide after he was put into space by Ben McCormack on the back of an Adam Tyrrell inside pass.

Kildare still managed to kick three points in a row with Neil Flynn who appeared for the injured Hyland scoring either side of two Adam Tyrrell efforts to push Cian O’Neill’s men four points clear.

Longford then ended a barren ten minute scoreless period with a Joseph Hagan score as Kildare took a 1-4 to 0-4 lead into the break.

Longford looked like they would get some bit of momentum going at the start of the second half when a Michael Quinn pass found Andrew Farrell in behind the Kildare defence but his shot went too high and he had to be content with a point.

Longford weren’t able to make that a springboard though as Kildare took control with six points in the space of as many minutes with Flynn and Tyrrell knocking over frees as well as Ben McCormack, Fergal Conway and Paddy Brophy kicking points from play.

Longford got the gap back to six with scores from David McGivney and Darren Quinn but they could never rediscover the form of the original game with none of their forwards scoring from play.

Any doubt of the result was then put to bed with Kildare kicking on again with points from McCormack, Moolick, Slattery and Flynn.

Kildare as a result were left with a 1-14 to 0-7 lead and although David McGivney responded with a free it mattered little with the victors kicking points for fun with Flynn, Moolick, Keith Cribbin and Niall Kelly all on target.

Quinn kicked two late frees for Longford but Kildare had already began to look ahead at that stage with a Leinster Semi-Final against Dublin awaiting.


Kildare: Mark Donnellan; Mark Dempsey, David Hyland, Mick O’Grady, Peter Kelly, Eoin Doyle, Keith Cribbin 0-1, Kevin Feely, Fergal Conway 1-1, David Slattery 0-1, Ben McCormack 0-2, Tommy Moolick 0-3, Adam Tyrrell 0-3 (0-2fs), Paddy Brophy 0-1, Jimmy Hyland.

Subs used: Neil Flynn 0-5 (0-4fs) for J.Hyland 22 mins, Niall Kelly 0-1 for Feely 55 mins, Cathal McNally for McCormack 58 mins, Eoghan O’Flaherty for Brophy 61 mins, Chris Healy for Slattery 63 mins, Kevin O’Callaghan for Tyrrell 66 mins.

Longford: Paddy Collum; Patrick Fox, Gary Rogers, Barry O’Farrell, Colm P.Smyth, Padraig McCormack, Darren Quinn 0-1, John Keegan, David McGivney 0-5 (0-4fs), Donal McElligott, Barry McKeon, Michael Quinn 0-2 (0-2fs), Daniel Mimnagh, James McGivney, Darragh Doherty.

Subs used: Andrew Farrell 0-1 for McKeon 20 mins, Joseph Hagan 0-1 for Doherty 31 mins, Aidan McElligott for Rogers 50 mins, Mark Hughes for Keegan 56 mins.

Ref: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.