Speed will be reduced to 60km/hr on the R445 Newbridge/Naas dual carriageway from July

Works to last until July 2020

Kim O'Leary


Kim O'Leary




File photo

Speed limits will be reduced on the R445 Newbridge/Naas dual carriageway to facilitate works which are set to last until July 2020.

It is understood that sections of the R445 will be reduced to 60km/hr and Kildare County Council has said that these sections will include the areas of Newhall, Moortown, Ladytown, Borahard, Morristown Lower, Morristown Little, Morristown Upper, Coolreagh, Old Connell and Little Connell.

Kildare County Council, in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 10 of the Road Traffic Act 2004, hereby makes the following Order in respect of the area comprising the administrative County of Kildare;

This order may be cited as the Road Works Speed Limit Order ES 1/2019 

60 kilometres per hour shall be the Road Works Speed Limit for mechanically propelled vehicles on the roads as specified in the Second Schedule to this order;

Westbound the speed limit will be reduced between Ladytown cross to a point approximately 700 meters south west of the junction of R445 and L6065.

Eastbound traffic will travel at 60km/hr from that same junction of the R445 and L6065 to a point approximately 200 meters west of the junction of Ladytown Cross.

An Garda Siochána have indicated that they have no objections to this Road Works Speed Limit Order.

This Road Works Speed Limit Order will apply from Tuesday, 2 July, 2019 to Wednesday, 1 July, 2020, or for the duration of the works, whichever is the earlier.