08 Aug 2022

National Hunt confirm 2020 champions

Season cut short after Fairyhouse and Punchestown abandoned

National Hunt confirm 2020 champions

Willie Mullins champion NH trainer for the 14th season i n a row

Following on from Wednesday’s announcement by the Board of Horse Racing Ireland that the 2019/2020 National Hunt season was to be cut short and that the Fairyhouse Easter Festival and the Punchestown Festival would not be rescheduled, the champions for the season have been confirmed.
Willie Mullins has secured the trainers’ championship for the 14th time. Paul Townend will be crowned champion jockey for the third time while Gigginstown House Stud is once again the champion owner.
The six champions for the 2019/2020 National Hunt season are: 

Champion Owner: Gigginstown House Stud
Champion Trainer: Willie Mullins
Champion Jockey: Paul Townend 
Champion Conditional: Darragh O'Keeffe 
Champion Amateur: Patrick Mullins
Champion Lady Amateur Rider: Lisa O’Neill

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.