18 Aug 2022

Curragh nominees for Racing Awards 2020 announced

Opportunity for public to vote for their favourites

Curragh nominees for Racing Awards 2020 announced

The Curragh announces nominees ahead of The Curragh 2020 Awards

The annual awards ceremony will take place online on Thursday 26th November

The public are invited to vote on

The categories which will be open to public vote include the Leading Riding Performance, the Leading Training Performance and the Horse of the Season. The nominees include:

The Curragh Riding Performance

Adam Farragher, A Step Too Far, Heffernan Tyres Joe McGrath Handicap
Billy Lee, Sonaiyla, Manguard Plus Summer Fillies Handicap
Chris Hayes, Aloha Star, Airlie Stud Stakes
Colin Keane, Siskin, Tattersalls Irish 2,000 Guineas
Mark Gallagher, Allora Yeats, Sky Bet Handicap
Seamus Heffernan, Santiago, Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby
Shane Foley, Not Now Zeb, Into Kildare We Care In Kildare Handicap

The Curragh Training Performance

Aidan O’Brien, Magical
DK Weld, Search for a Song
Ger Lyons, Siskin / Even So
Jessica Harrington, Lucky Vega / Cayenne Pepper
Johnny Murtagh, Sonnyboyliston
John McConnell, A Case of You
Ken Condon, Law of Indices/Romanised
Kieran Cotter, A Step Too Far
Noel Meade, Elysium/ Helvic Dream
Paddy Twomey, Sonaiyla

The Curragh Horse of the Season

1.         Even So, Juddmonte Irish Oaks

2.         High Definition, Smurfit Beresford Stakes

3.         Lucky Vega, Keeneland Phoenix Stakes and 2nd in GAIN Railway Stakes

4.         Magical, Tattersalls Gold Cup and Alwasmiyah Pretty Polly Stakes

5.         Peaceful, Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas

6.         Pretty Gorgeous, A.R.M Holding Debutante Stakes and 2nd in Moyglare Stud Stakes

7.         Santiago, Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby

8.         Search for A Song, Comer Group Irish St Leger and 3rd in Tattersalls Gold Cup

9.         Siskin, Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas

10.     Thunder Moon, Goffs Vincent O’Brien National Stakes

An additional Special Achievement Award will be announced at the online ceremony on Thursday 26th November 26.

Pat Keogh, CEO of The Curragh, said: "The Curragh Awards acknowledge the outstanding achievements during 2020 at The Curragh and presents an opportunity for the public to be involved in determining the champions of the season. Despite the cancellation of the traditional annual awards ceremony at The Curragh due to the Covid-19 pandemic this year, the public can celebrate achievements and join The Curragh for the Virtual Awards."

Voting is open on until Sunday November 22. The Curragh Virtual Awards Ceremony takes place on Thursday 26 on The Curragh social media channels at 8pm. Respondents can enter into a prize draw to win an exclusive yard visit with the winning trainer for 2 people.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.