02 Oct 2022

Rugby: Leinster name side for clash with Dragons in PRO14

Naas' Jamie Osborne and Clane's Marcus Hanan named on bench

Rugby: Leinster name side for clash with Dragons in PRO14

The Leinster Rugby team to face the Dragons tomorrow evening in Rodney Parade in the Guinness PRO14 has been announced by Head Coach Leo Cullen (KO 7.35pm, live on eir Sport).

Luke McGrath will captain the side as Jack Conan makes his 100th appearance for his home province from the base of the scrum.

In the back three, Academy back Max O’Reilly starts at full-back with Cian Kelleher on the right wing and Dave Kearney on the left.

In the centre, Ross Byrne is joined by the fit-again Rory O’Loughlin who has recovered from a shoulder injury.

In the half-backs, captain McGrath is joined by Harry Byrne. It will be the first time that brothers Harry and Ross have started a game together in Leinster colours.

To the pack and Peter Dooley, James Tracy and Michael Bent are the front row selected by Cullen, with Bent back after a neck injury. Ross Molony and Ryan Baird are selected in the second row.

In the back row Josh Murphy starts at blindside with Scott Penny at openside having recovered from a neck injury.

Finally, Wicklow man Conan will win his 100th cap for Leinster Rugby from number eight.

Meanwhile Naas RFC's Jamie Osborne is named on the bench having made his Leinster debut coming on early in the second half against Scarlets two weeks ago  and making an impact, while it could also be a memorable occasion for Marcus Hanan who is in line to make his Leinster Rugby debut off the bench should he be introduced. The 20-year-old played his age grade rugby with Clane RFC and was capped by Ireland Under 20s during the 2020 Six Nations. The six foot tall, loose head prop plays his club rugby with Old Belvedere.

LEINSTER v Dragons: 15. Max O’Reilly (2 caps): 14. Cian Kelleher (21), 13. Rory O’Loughlin (74), 12. Ross Byrne (95), 11. Dave Kearney (159); 10. Harry Byrne (18), 9. Luke McGrath (140) Cpt.; 1. Peter Dooley (85), 2. James Tracy (121), 3. Michael Bent (151); 4. Ross Molony (107), 5. Ryan Baird (18); 6. Josh Murphy (40), 7. Scott Penny (20), 8. Jack Conan (99).

Replacements: 16. Dan Sheehan (5); 17. Marcus Hanan (0); 18. Tom Clarkson (5); 19. Devin Toner (256); 20. Scott Fardy (70); 21. Rowan Osborne (6); 22. David Hawkshaw (5); 23. Jamie Osborne (1).

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.