17 May 2022

Naas crowned Leinster hurling champions

Seven points to spare over Wexford champions

Naas hurlers

Naas Simon Leacy holds off the challenges during the AIB Leinster Gaa Intermediate Hurling Championship Final

Naas were crowned AIB Leinster intermediate hurling champions following a mighty disiplay aginst Oylgate Glenbrien of Wexford in St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, this afternoon.

While Oylgate opened the scoring, a goal from Jack Sheridan in the fifth minute saw Naas take a lead they were never to lose and while they had to suffer some dodgy moments, overall they desered their win, after a brilliant third quarter.

Naas led at the break by just a point, 2-5 to 1-7 but a brilliant third quarter saw the Kildare champs lead 3-9 to 1-9 at the second water break.

Naas were never really threatened after that and were worthy winners on a final score line of Naas 3-12 Oylgatebrien 1-11.

Little rest for the winners as they are out again, probably next Sunday, in the All-Ireland semi-final against the Connacht championos.

Scorers: Naas, Jack Sheridan 2-3 (1 free), Brian Byrne 0-5 (3 frees), Cathal Dowling 1-2, Shane Dowling 0-1, Kevin Whelan 0-1.

Oylgate Glenbrien, Podge Doran 1-0, Seamus Casey 0-5 (5 frees), Hoe Dunne 0-2, Jack Reck 0-1, Damian Reck 0-1, Fergal Doran 0-1 (65), Jamiei Reck 0-1.

NAAS: Cormac Gallagher; John McKeon, Richard Hogan, Conor Gormley; Kevin Whelan, Ross Kelly, Sean Gainey; Rian Boran, Simon Lacey; Cathal Dowling, Jack Sheridan, Codnor Dowling; Brian Byrne cpt., James Burke, Shane Ryan. Subs: Kevin Aherne for Conor Dowling (37 minutes); Jeff Keane for Shane Ryan (50 minutes); Conan Boran for Kevin Whelan (62 minutes); Charlie Sheridan for Jack Sheridan ( 64 minutes).

OYLGATE GLENBRIEN: Eddie Mernagh; Tomas Cosgrave, Michael Heffernan, Paidi Casey; Mike Kelly, Damien Reck, Ciaran Hourihane; Shane Reck, Peter Rowley; Jamie Reck, Seamus Casey, Jack Reck; Evan Kelly, Podge Doran, Joe Dunne. Subs: Fiachra Hourihane for evan Kelly (42 minutes); Conor Heffernan for Jamie Reck (50 minutes); Barry Dunne for Joe Dunne (50 minutes); Ferga Doran for Peter Rowley (58 miutes); Fergus Heffernan for Ciaran Hourihane (63 minutes).

REFEREE: Thoms Gleeson, Dublin.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.