24 Sept 2022

Kildare remain firmly on track in Christy Ring Cup

15 points to spare over Derry

Christy Ring Kildare v Derry

Brian Byrne gathers the sliother in the Christy Ring clash against Derry in St Conleth's Park, Newbridge. Photo: Sean Brilly

Kildare, after a fine second half display, made it three wins from three with a somewhat comfortable win over Derry in Round 3 of the Chrity Ring Cup at St Conleth's Park, Newbrige, this afternoon.

Although there was only one point separating the sides at the break, 0-8 to 0-7, the home side, with the strong wind on their backs on the resumption, stepped up their display hitting an impressive 1-16 to Derry's 5 points (all frees) to win on a final score line of Kildare 1-24 Derry 0-12.

Some fine displays from the winners but none better than midfielder Cathal McCabe who had an exceptional game throughout,  hitting 1-4, while Gerry Keegan and James Burke also stood out.

A break from the action next week, to be followed by an away game to Wicklow before the final game, at home, to Sligo.


Kildare, James Burke 0-7 (4 frees, 65), Cathal McCabe 1-4, Gerry Keegan 0-6, Johnny Byrne 0-2, Rian Boran 0-1, Paul Divilly 0-1, Conan Boran 0-1, Cathal Dowling 0-1, Shane Ryan 0-1,

Derry, Richie Mullan 0-5 (4 frees), Cormac O'Doherty 0-2 (2 frees), Deaghlan Foley 0-2 (1 free), Gerard Bradley 0-1, Conor Kelly 0-1, Brendan Laverty 0-1.

KILDARE: Paddy McKenna; Neil Ó Muineacháin, Simon Leacy, Cathal Derivan; Paul Dolan, Rian Boran, Conan Boran; Cathal McCabe, Paul Divilly; Brian Byrne cpt, James Burke, Jack Sheridan; Gerry Keegan, Shane Ryan, Cathal Dowling. Subs: Johnny Byrne for Paul Divilly (half time); Johnny Byrne for Mark Delaney (half time); Kevin Whelan for Paul Dolan (40 minutes); Jack Travers for Jack Sheridan (57 minutes); Sean Christanseen for Neil Ó Muineacháin (56 minutes);

DERRY: Oisin O'Doherty; Ciaran Hendry, Mark Craig, Eamon McGill; Brendan Laverty, Conor Kelly, Paddy Kelly; Cormac O'Doherty, Ryan Mulholland; Fintan Bradley, John Mullan, Richie Mullan; Deaghlan Foley, Gerard Bradley, Odhran McKeever. Subs: Darragh McGilligan for Brendan Laverty (half time); Padhraig Nelis (57 minutes); Liam Eoin Campbell for Odhran McKeever (63 minutes); Tiarnan McHugh for Gerard Bradley (63 minutes); Gabriel Farren for Eamon McGill (68 minutes).

REFEREE: Colum Cunning, Antrim.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.