08 Aug 2022

Kildare man Tadhg Beirne to start for Ireland against Russia on Thursday


Kildare man Tadhg Beirne to start for Ireland against Russia on Thursday

Tadhg Beirne will start against Russia on Thursday

Johnny Sexton will captain the Ireland team for the first time in the Pool A match against Russia at Kobe Misaki Stadium on Thursday October 3. 

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt named the Ireland team earlier today. Just four of the starting XV for Ireland in their loss against Japan will be in the starting line-up against Russia: Peter O'Mahony, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose and Rob Kearney. 

Eadestown man Tadhg Beirne starts in the second row, while Athy's Joey Carbery is on the bench.

1. Dave Kilcoyne

2. Niall Scannell

3. John Ryan

4. Tadhg Beirne

5. Jean Kleyn

6. Rhys Ruddock

7. Peter O'Mahony

8. Jordi Murphy

9. Luke McGrath

10. Johnny Sexton (capt.)

11. Keith Earls

12. Bundee Aki

13. Garry Ringrose

14. Andrew Conway

15. Rob Kearney

16. Sean Cronin

17. Andrew Porter

18. Tadhg Furlong

19. Iain Henderson

20. CJ Stander

21. Joey Carbery

22. Jack Carty

23. Jordan Larmour

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.