28 Sept 2022

Ireland team to play Wales named

Six Nations gets under way this weekend

Ireland team to play Wales named

The Ireland team to take on Wales at the Principality Stadium in the first round of the 2021 Guinness Six Nations Championship, Sunday February 7.

Johnny Sexton will captain the side as he competes in his 12th Six Nations Championship and his second as Ireland captain. He is joined in the half-backs by Conor Murray who is one of five players from the match day squad who played in Ireland’s last Six Nations victory in Cardiff in 2013 (Murray, Sexton, Healy, O’Mahony, Earls).

Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose are partnered in midfield having last started a Test match together in the quarter-final of the 2019 Rugby World Cup. Hugo Keenan is selected at fullback with support on the wings from Keith Earls and James Lowe, who makes his Six Nations debut.

Cian Healy, who makes his 50th Six Nations appearance, is joined in the front row by Rob Herring and Andrew Porter. Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan form the lock partnership with Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander named in the backrow.

The game kicks off at 3pm.

IRELAND v Wales: 15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps; 14. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 88 caps, 13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 30 caps, 12. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 47 caps, 11. James Lowe (Leinster) 2 caps;
10. Jonathan Sexton, captain  (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 95 caps, 9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 87 caps; 1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 104 caps, 2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 16 caps, 3. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 32 caps; 4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 17 caps, 5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 32 caps; 6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 73 caps, 7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 28 caps, 8. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 46 caps

Replacements: 16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 6 caps; 17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 39 caps; 18. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 44 caps; 19. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 58 caps; 20. Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) 5 caps; 21. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 5 caps; 22. Billy Burns (Ulster) 3 caps; 23. Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 24 caps.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.